Fleeting thoughts: Any Excuse for a Sale

I was checking my email and I saw one from the online store where I often buy my shoes. It is promoting its Memorial Day sale. Firstly, I totally forgot this weekend is Memorial Day weekend. I have noticed since leaving school, I’m pretty much unaware of any holiday that isn’t Thanksgiving, Christmas, or Easter– the only days I don’t do any work. Otherwise my reaction is, “It’s what-holiday? Oh. Okay.”

Anyway, I could obviously write at length about the consumerism of holidays but in reading the promotion from this store which clearly wants me to think “buy high heels” when I hear Memorial Day, I found myself wondering if there was any holiday left that hasn’t been turned into a shopping spree? I mean, even Dr. Martin Luther King’s birthday and all the President’s Day are car and mattress sales!

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Essentially Claudia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.