On Competition

Competition is a varied concept. It can be healthy, leading to innovation, progress, development of a healthy self-esteem, and a respect for the ability of others, among many positive outcomes. Of course, it can be unhealthy too: cutthroat opponents, sabotage, and rumor, among many negative outcomes. The latter is what leads some people to categorize all competition as bad, instead encouraging a sort of “participation medal” mentality.

Negative competition is rife in the demimonde. Regardless of the category one places herself or himself within this world, we are all in competition with each other. Despite this, I don’t believe jealousy is ever a valid reason to undercut a colleague. In fact, I can’t think of any reason to sabotage a colleague. But for those of us who would like to see this profession regarded as an actual profession, it is important for us to choose our friends and associates wisely and display behavior that is truly professional. I’ve yet to have a regret on this score.

As a side note: this post was inspired by personal observations.

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Companionship, Courtesanry, Demimondaines, Essentially Claudia, Ethical Practices, Etiquette, Philosophy, The Demimonde and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Competition

  1. Kera says:

    You said a mouthful here. I retweeted this on twitter. Hopefully this post catches on.

  2. This is a great post!
    My thoughts are that competition is usually only in your mind in the demimonde. And rightly so. It’s your physical manifestation of that mental challenge that makes you who you are. I can compare my presentation to every woman with whom I could be physically compared to, but because of my unique personality and take on companionship, I am an island. And so are you, beautiful lady! 🙂
    This thought process allows me to acknowledge and respect the ability of others, and help those that I feel can be helped. Otherwise, I’d be like some of these ladies who do their best to sabotage another lady, or ignore them when they reach out in friendship.
    You just can’t be a stupid woman in this industry. Otherwise you fall prey to false friends.
    All that’s left to say is thank goodness for brains….

  3. “…or ignore them when they reach out in friendship.”

    Yup! I’ve had that experience. I had someone reach out to me and, you know how I am with email sometimes. But I made sure to assuage any hesitancy or ill-feelings that may have been generated due to my late email responses.

  4. Yeah, but late responses is one thing. You’re busy. You aren’t tied to your phone or a pc all day. But saying you’re open to help, but not answering emails, not approving comments on blogs, not responding to reference requests, and catty comments when you do respond is another thing. Some people are worried that you’ll steal their thunder they’d rather be their own voice of reason.

    What I have to learn is that while I relish in a challenge to my views, some ladies thrive on having an unchecked “vision” of themselves available for the client. And that’s okay too.

  5. A late response is one thing. You’re a busy professional. It’s to be expected. But saying that you’re available to help, but won’t respond to emails, not approving blog comments, or being catty when you do correspond, that says you’re worried about someone stealing your thunder.

    I have to understand while I relish in challenges to my train of thought, others thrive on having an ‘unchecked vision’ of themselves for their clients. Which is okay too.

  6. Very, very true. Speaking of emails, did you get the one I sent last week? I hope it helped.

  7. It did! Go back and look; tell me what you think.

Comments are closed.