{Courteous}

“Passion and courtesy are two polar opposite traits that serve to balance each other into a full-bodied whole. Without socialization, passion is a crude barbarian, and without passion, the elegant and polite are dead. Allow both passion and courtesy into your life in equal measure and be complete.” -Vera Nazarian

courtesyLong story short: I have good home-training. It seems to me that more and more people lack basic courtesy and worse, some hide it behind being “edgy” or “radical” or “revolutionary”. No, you’re not any of those things; you’re just an ass. A good friend of mine posted a picture with quotes on his Facebook wall that stated, “Good manners are so rare these days, they’re mistaken for flirting.” I sound like such an old woman when I bemoan this decline in respectful interactions. But I don’t say these things because I’m ready to throw on a caftan, wear a head full of 1960s plastic rollers, and sit in a rocking chair bitching about “Kids these days!” (Give me about 50 years…)

No, I complain because I prefer having fun….sexy, sexy fun! And for sexy sexy fun to be fun for everyone involved, courtesy is absolutely essential. Done properly, courtesy intensifies the fun, as indicated by the quote preceding this post. Especially in the demimonde, despite the beliefs of those who have personal issues with the erotic. I posted before that I was raised with Debrett’s Etiquette and Emily Post in the house. My family origins are in the genteel Southern tradition, especially Louisiana and Alabama. My parents taught me how to conduct myself in public and when I must object or disagree, how to do so decently even if the words cut deep. And of course, I learned after reaching womanhood, “Lady in the streets and……..” You know how to finish that.

 

Stay tuned for the rest of the Soup!

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Soup, Art of the Courtesan, Companionship, Courtesanry, Demimondaines, Essentially Claudia, Ethical Practices, Etiquette, Philosophy, Pleasurable pursuits, Sensuality, The Demimonde, The Erotic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to {Courteous}

  1. Pingback: {Jaunty} | The Claudia Chronicles

  2. Pingback: On childhoods, barns, & other etiquette stuff | The Claudia Chronicles

Comments are closed.