{Fangirl}

Mike & the Bots riffing the movie Final Sacrifice

Mike & the Bots riffing the movie Final Sacrifice

I’m going to sound like a hipster saying this, but I was a geek girl long before it was ‘cool’ or ‘sexy’ and certainly before it became the new darling of some rather half-baked feminist pop culture ‘critiques’. I am unapologetic in my love for science fiction and high fantasy genres. For example, in fifth grade I wrote a book report on the then brand new novel Heir to the Empire by Timothy Zahn, the first book of the well-regarded Thrawn Trilogy, marking what many Star Wars EU fans consider the official resuscitation of the Star Wars brand and the start of the Expanded Universe….which has now been rendered possibly obsolete. Or not. We’ll see with Episode VII and good gods I could argue pros and cons of this for DAYS. My English teacher really didn’t appreciate the awesomeness of the book, but since I fulfilled the requirements, I earned my A. If someone ever asked me, especially in my younger days, ‘what color is the sky in your world?’, I’d ask them to specify which of my favorite geekdoms they’d like me to reference: Star Trek (any of them)? Doctor Who? Fringe? Lord of the Rings? Star Wars? Work with me here!

Like most girls with one or more older male siblings (or sibling-like relatives, in my case), I was introduced to geekhood as soon as I could walk. I spent a childhood watching Mystery Science Theatre 3000* from its first episode to the final one ten years later, the original Doctor Who, Highlander, Monty Python, Star Trek, Twilight Zone, etc. Most of my first crushes on boys weren’t boys but male heroes in scifi/fantasy media: Egon from Ghostbusters and Luke Skywalker were my first two. I really didn’t appreciate the roguish charm of Han Solo or Lando Calrissian until post-puberty. Jean-Luc Picard still remains the Captain of my heart and Tom Baker cemented my love for eccentric men with curly dark hair and ridiculously long scarves. Oh and then there are the Winchester boys…. 🙂

I’m fairly certain if I ever met, say, Margaret Atwood, Joss Whedon or Jacqueline Carey or George R.R. Martin, that I’ll just melt to the floor in a puddle of fangirl goo. Or at least a babbling, incoherent mess for a couple minutes.

Then there are my nerdy, nerdy rants against some of the people I just named. Heavens know GRRM is seriously testing my loyalty. But I rant because I love, not because I want something to be pissy about. I realize being a fangirl encompasses more than just a strong affinity for a particular fandom. When I love, I love with all my heart and soul (though not obsessively). People, places, things, concepts…. But in this case, it’s all about the love of natural and supernatural possibilities. What can be and if it truly can’t be, well, I’ll enjoy the idea of it anyway.

 

*One of my wonderful clients gave me a gift of memorabilia from one of my absolute favorite MST3k episodes. I cherish it dearly.

Stay tuned for more Soup!

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Soup, Essentially Claudia, Geekdom, My Favorite Things and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {Fangirl}

  1. Pingback: Anti-Social…Media | The Claudia Chronicles

Comments are closed.