To grow old gracefully

I believe the true function of age is memory. I’m recording as fast as I can. -Rita Mae Brown

libraryI love books, the physicality of the book. Holding a book and reading from it is one of my favorite sensual pleasures and a great example of a non-sexual sensual experience. It engages most of them, and for those who must lick a finger to turn the page, all of the senses are engaged and heightened. I will be dragged kicking, screaming, and scratching into digital books. I already dislike the dwindling of print editions of newspapers and magazines.

Books grow old gracefully. Yes, that includes creases and stains and tears and smells (oh, the smells!) and all those other indications that it has been around for a while. They are organic material after all, just like us. Books themselves, not their content, can teach us a lot about growing old gracefully. Something that shows age tends to have more to impart than something that never shows the passage of time. New has its place to be sure and we must always add to life to keep it vital and living. But new isn’t always better.

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Essentially Claudia, History, My Favorite Things, Philosophy, Pleasurable pursuits, Science, Sensuality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.