{Refined}

“elegant & cultured in appearance, manner, or taste.”

Woman in Black at the Opera by Mary Cassatt

Woman in Black at the Opera by Mary Cassatt

In short, you can take me out in public without the fear of my inability to act decently. Of course, I am no wallflower and I enthusiastically engage with others; but I spend a great deal of time observing and people-watching. I know how to voice dissent without beating someone over the head with it or expressing it in a way that makes it very easy to be ignored and dismissed.

My fashion sense is the classic, elegant silhouette, with just enough sexiness to call to mind the bombshells of the 1950s & 1960s who I adore so much: Dorothy Dandridge, Claudia Cardinale, Sophia Loren, Diahann Carroll, and so on. As the saying favored by so many other Professional Companions states, “I turn heads, I do not raise eyebrows.” Publicly appropriate but privately very, very naughty.

This personal refinement is also one of the reasons I don’t allow reviews. They tend to be the antithesis of refinement. I know colleagues who have false reviews of them, written by people who were never one of their clients. I can go on and on about reviews, but I won’t because that is not the topic of this post.

I have plenty of highbrow cultural favorites, unsurprising from someone with a BA in History of Art and Architecture, with a childhood spent in classical ballet and my school’s orchestra. That said, I adore pop culture too and I hate the idea that one is automatically better than the other. I can quote The Simpsons as though it’s a second language and my love for Mystery Science Theatre 3000 knows no bounds (as well as its new iteration, Rifftrax); and British period dramas, opera, the symphony, classical dance performances and masqued balls fit in with the former just fine. There’s a difference between refinement and snobbery.

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Soup, Art History, Companionship, Courtesanry, Essentially Claudia, Etiquette, My Favorite Things, Philosophy, Pleasurable pursuits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.