Anti-Social…Media

woman-screaming-at-computerSocial media makes me itchy and there is not enough Benadryl or calamine lotion in the world to counteract the effects it has on me. If you take a look at my Twitter stream, I use that almost solely to promote my blog posts. I don’t spend time on there, so if you send a Tweet to me, please don’t be offended if I don’t respond*. Back when I was an activist, I did but the culture of Twitter in general (not just in the demimonde) has become like a toxic sludge and I’m donning a full hazmat suit. And running away in the opposite direction.

It’s a shame. As a Professional Companion who doesn’t want public reviews, social media had the ability to allow interaction between me and potential patrons. From what I can see and hear, a lot of drama from message boards has just spilled over onto Twitter, Instagram, and whathaveyou and ughhhh….. I shy away from message boards of ALL kinds, in and out of the demimonde, because of varied reasons; all of them to do with drama and bullshit.

I’ve never disguised the fact that I’m a science fiction and fantasy nerd. Old school nerd, not the newfangled “nerd” that is apparently cool these days. Anyway, back when only a handful of people had the Internet and I was but a wee nerd, boards were civil overall. Not that drama didn’t start, but it was reigned in a lot quicker and a lot of it got nipped in the bud. These days? Not so much.

I tip my hat to those who are able to navigate the minefield of social media. It’s something that I’m not likely to do. So no, you won’t find me interacting on provider boards at the moment though I still have a couple of profiles out there.

Though I discussed a positive aspect to social media in the demimonde, it’s a double-edged sword because that same aspect is also a negative: the increased exposure. The more social media profiles a Professional Companion has, the less discreet she becomes. The more likely someone can identify her, possibly in a venue she’d rather not be recognized as such. OR, or, by someone she’d rather not have informed of her alternate job. I don’t think I’m paranoid, but I am very cautious. I am very concerned about discretion both for myself and for my patron and I keep that in mind always.

 

*If you want to say hello, email me at claudiachristophe[at]hushmail[dot]com. Or leave a comment here on the blog.

About Claudia Christophe

Professional, sensual companion for discerning gentlemen.
This entry was posted in Companionship, Essentially Claudia, Ethical Practices, Philosophy, The Demimonde and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anti-Social…Media

  1. The Castleton Snob! says:

    I couldn’t agree more. The driving desire to inject negativity into a situation whose very purpose is pleasure baffles me and has driven me from the boards as well. It does, however, distinguish those who are appreciative from those who are not, helping those who work in the demimonde “cull the herd”.

  2. First of all, love the name! *wink* Second, I’m actually wearing the t-shirt right now! LOL! I must’ve channeled you.

    Lastly, some people are just drama llamas. They can’t operate without chaos and bs infecting and affecting everything around them.

Comments are closed.